Fudgy Mint Oreo Brownies

I will be honest. I usually hate mint. I associate mint with oral hygiene, not food and beverages. I usually pass on the mojitos and the mint chocolate chip ice cream. You may think I am weird but we all have our weird quirks, right? You’re also probably wondering if I eat thin mints… OF COURSE I DO and the mint oreo is almost as good. I thought I would try this fudgy mint oreo brownie just to try something new, I am glad I did because they were good.

IMG_0879

Filling Ingredients

1 – 7oz jar of marshmallow fluff ( it took me forever to find this at the store – its where the ice cream toppings are )

1/8 tsp of mint extract

Green food coloring

1 batch of brownies ( not gonna lie, i totally bought a box of brownie mix and went that route)

12 mint oreos, crushed

 

Frosting and Topping

1/2 cup of butter, softened

3 – 4 cups of powdered sugar ( 3 was my magic number )

1 teaspoon of vanilla extract

splash of milk , if needed for consistency

3/4 cup of white chocolate chips, melted

18 mint oreos, crushed

 

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350°F. Line a 9×13-inch pan with foil and spray it with cooking spray.

2. Filling – In medium bowl, stir together marshmallow fluff, mint extract (a little bit of mint goes a very long way), 4 drops of food coloring, or until light green is achieved; set aside.

2. Brownies –If you are using box brownies like me, follow the directions on the box, or follow your favorite brownie recipe. Then hand-crumble 12 oreos over the bowl and fold them in.

3. Spread brownie batter in prepared pan.

4. Drop about 1/2 cup of green filling mixture onto brownie batter and reserve the remainder. Gently pull a table knife through the batter in S-shaped curves for a swirled design.

5. Bake 23 to 25 minutes or until brownies are set. Cool completely. If your impatient like me, put them in the fridge for a few minutes :0)

6. Frosting and Topping – While brownies are cooling, make vanilla frosting, Using an electric mixer beat together the butter, confectioners’ sugar, vanilla, and milk ( if needed) until frosting is smooth and fluffy.

7. In another small microwave-safe bowl, melt the white chocolate chips (follow directions on package for melting)

8.Add the melted white chocolate chips and the vanilla frosting to the reserved green minty marshmallow mixture.

9. Stir in 4 drops+ food coloring, or until light green color is reached, and spread over cooled brownies.

10. Sprinkle with 18 hand-crumbled Oreo Cookies, slightly pressing them into the green mixture. Allow top layer to set fully before slicing by setting brownies in fridge. I kept them stored in the fridge, they were delicious cold 🙂

IMG_0878Im not any where close to being a photographer, sorry !!!

I hope this mint brownies ‘freshen’ up your day… YUM !!!

20140718-115536-42936304.jpg

original recipe found here

 

 

One thought on “Fudgy Mint Oreo Brownies

Leave a Reply

