Too soon?

20140519-171548-62148596.jpg

Today I decided to try and let Samantha nap in her crib. No reason particularly, just wanted to put the room to use, I guess. I fed her while rocking her in the chair and she fell asleep. I immediately put her in the crib. I sat in the room trying to express milk for later feedings. I then proceeded to turn the baby monitor on so I could leave the room. After about 5-10 minutes, I wanted to get her and let her nap on my chest ? I am completely attached to her sleeping on my chest and it makes me happy. I have even thought about co-sleeping ( not to be confused with co-rooming) just because her presence and touch makes me feel calm leaving me not to worry about her.

Was the crib nap too soon ? Mamas what do you think? Normal feelings?

20140519-171630-62190235.jpg

20140519-171717-62237128.jpg

6 thoughts on “Too soon?

  1. LMTmomma says:

    Trust your instincts! If you want her on your chest she is probably feeling the same. There is no such thing as too much love! Mine slept in a bassinet next to my bed for the first few months. I would scoop them up, nurse, and unless there was a diaper change needed, I could go right back to sleep. Do what feels right. One day you won’t be able to hold her like that anymore because she will be a teenager like mine. 🙂 She’s so sweet! Congratulations!

  2. There is nothing better than baby snuggles! She sure is precious. I had Kylan sleeping in his crib for naps and night time at 2 weeks. Mainly because he is a super noisy sleeper and kept waking me up with his little grunts. Now, he loves his crib. It’s nice to be able to do a lot while he’s sleeping. I do still hold him for a couple naps a day though… Who can resist those baby snuggles?

  3. I think it’s perfect. You love your little girl and she loves you. This is the most crucial time for her to build that trust and I think you putting her on your chest is perfect. Do what feels right. You are her mom, you can do what you want. Forget what others say. You can never hold a baby too much no matter what anyone says. Trust your instincts! 🙂

  4. I agree that you should do what feels right. Having my baby sleeping on me/in my arms is the greatest thing ever. I have a hard time putting her down, especially now that she’s in daycare. So usually, things just don’t get done!
    Unless it’s causing problems for some reason, have her sleep wherever you want her to. I think having her close this young is great for her.
    That being said, there’s nothing wrong with crib naps either. I plan to try that out this weekend. My girl is big, and smacks her hands/legs against the cosleeper sides now at night. I’m interested to see if she sleeps better with more room to stretch out.
    Good luck!

Leave a Reply

