My Favorite Oatmeal Cookies

Its been sometime since I have posted a recipe since I have started focusing more on my bUmpdates. I have been cooking and baking, however my mind is more overwhelmed with getting things in line for Samanthas arrival rather than taking photos of new things I have been making. The good thing about the lack of my documentation is that the recipes have been good enough to make again so they WILL be made again and posted soon.

One of my favorite past times as a child is having my Grammy and Grandpa visit for the Christmas Holidays. Every year my sister and I could count on her trunk being full of goodies. I’m not talking about wrapped gift goodies. She always came with dozens of desserts, desserts for days. Seriously !!! One of the scrumptious sweets included oatmeal cookies. Your probably thinking what is so special about an oatmeal cookie, right? I cant pin point what makes these cookies one of my favorites but I promise you wont be disappointed.

I asked for the recipe when we went to visit her a few weeks ago. It was such a surprise to see the recipe was a cut out of an old Quaker Oats box except she decided to make a few changes of her own. I hope she doesn’t mind sharing her recipe !

OatmealIngredients

INGREDIENTS

3/4 of Vegetable Oil

1  1/2 cups of White granulated sugar

1 Egg

1/4 cup Water

1 teaspoon Vanilla

3 cups Uncooked oats

1 cup All-purpose flour

1 teaspoon Salt

1/2 teaspoon Baking Soda

DIRECTIONS

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Beat together oil, sugar, egg, water and vanilla until creamy. Add combined remaining ingredients mixing well. Drop rounded teaspoonfuls onto greased cookie sheet. Bake at 350 for 12-15 minutes. Let the cookies cool completely.

Cookies

They are slightly soft in the middle with a little bit of crunch !!! My mouth is watering just talking blogging about them. If you want to add your favorite nut or dried fruit I am sure that would add more flavor !!! As you can see in the photo I did not follow the ‘drop rounded teaspoon fulls’… I used a small ice cream scoop making VERY large cookies that spread out and became one large cookie. I just cut cookie  like shapes and put them in a cookie tin.

Happy St. Patrick’s Day !

20140207-100538.jpg

Leave a Reply

