Not so basic

One day we were craving a cheesecake. My first thought was CHEESECAKE FACTORY, that idea was shot down, second thought, PUBLIX … nah probably not as good as the factory. It was suggested to me why don’t I make my own cheesecake?  Whaaaa? I’ve never conquered a cheesecake .. are you kidding me? Plus , I want cheesecake NOW not in 100 hours !!! As my craving for cheesecake grew I said to my self “Hell with it, I’m gonna make a cheesecake.”

I can assure you I did not pick a basic cheesecake to make. I picked one with multiple layers..

For those who are still in the haven’t made a cheesecake club, I always heard they were hard to make. Cracking, not baking through, etc etc etc…I was not going to let this break me down. I remembered a cheesecake recipe I noticed my patient looking at in a magazine, so I made a copy and put it away for a future time I was planning on making a cheesecake. Well that time was now …and it came out PERFECT.

Peanut Butter Cup Cheesecake

Crust:

  6 tablespoons butter, melted, plus more for pan

  1 1/2 cups of graham cracker crumbs

  1/4 cup of  finely crushed oreos – I think I used a little more

  1/4 cup of sugar

  3/4 cup of creamy peanut butter

Cheesecake

3 packages  (8 ounces each) cream cheese, at room temperature

1 cup of sugar

1 cup of sour cream

1 1/2 teaspoons of vanilla extract

3 (large) eggs, lightly beaten

1 cup of hot fudge ice cream topping

Peanut butter cups, cut into halves, for garnish

  1. Crust: Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Brush 9-inch springform pan with melted butter. In large bowl, mix all crumbs, sugar, and 6 tablespoons butter. Press onto bottom and 1 inch up side of pan. Bake 10 minutes or until crust has set. Cool completely on wire rack. In small bowl, microwave peanut butter on high 30 seconds or until melted. Brush onto bottom crust. I made a slight  mistake and overbaked a few minutes. Even though it may not feel set, let the crust cool. It will harden.
  2. Cheesecake: In large bowl, with mixer on medium speed, beat cream cheese and sugar until smooth, about 3 minutes, scraping bowl with rubber spatula as needed. Beat in sour cream and vanilla. Reduce speed to low. Beat in eggs until just combined. Remove 1 cup batter; set aside. Pour remaining batter into prepared crust.
  3. In small bowl, microwave 1/4 cup hot fudge topping on high 30 seconds or until pourable; fold into reserved 1 cup batter. Carefully pour chocolate filling over batter in pan; swirl with knife.
  4. Place springform pan, inside roasting pan, on rack in oven; carefully fill roasting pan with boiling water to come halfway up side of springform pan. Bake until set around edges but slightly wobbly in center, about 55 minutes. Turn oven off. Remove pan from water bath. Return cake to oven and let cool inside, with door propped open slightly, 2 hours. Transfer pan to wire rack.
  5. In small bowl, microwave remaining 3/4 cup hot fudge topping on high 30 seconds or until pourable. Spread over top of cake with offset (angled) spatula; let cool. Garnish with peanut butter cups. Cover and refrigerate at least 6 hours or until well-chilled, up to 3 days. To serve, remove side of pan.
photo 1

photo 2

 

 

 

 

 

 

So my cheesecake may not be PICTURE PERFECT, however it was delicious. It was time consuming. Grab a glass of wine ( or a few), and have fun with it. I did !

 

HAPPY SATURDAY – GO SEMINOLES !

Leave a Reply

