Latley

I can assure you I have not crawled into a black hole and died ! I have not been chased away by the stress of the wedding…I am still here !

Latley – I have just. been. busy. Sometimes growing up being an adult stinks … The 7am to 6pm work day stinks. Working out nightly stinks. It just all stinks ! Leaving me NO time to cook anything new and entertain my blog readers ! The few hours I have left at the end of the day l save spending time with don and the pups 😉 I can’t let life get in the way of my household … Except for the laundry, the dishes , the dusting … Let me stop before I have a panic attack – aye ya ya !

Last weekend , I had an amazing group of friends and family give me a bridal shower ! I had a wonderful time. There was tons of food I tell you 😉 and it was all very delicious . Specifically my mommas southern grits y’all ;0) Everyone kept asking me about them…so I figured I would provide the recipe right here on my blog !

Southern Creamy Grits

INGREDIENTS
1 cup heavy cream
1 can (1 2/3 cups) chicken broth
1 cup water
4 tablespoons butter
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/8 to 1/4 teaspoon pepper
1 cup quick grits

PREPERATION
Bring heavy cream, chicken broth, and water to a boil in a medium saucepan. Add butter, salt, and pepper. Slowly whisk in grits and reduce heat. Cook 15 to 20 minutes over low heat, stirring frequently. Serve in place of rice with shrimp, pork tenderloin medallions, lamb chops, or other meat or poultry.

Serves 4-6 , recipe can be doubled.

Mom served the grits in a crock pot to keep warm at the shower , providing martini cups for grits to be eaten in! As add-ins, she had sides of bacon, scallions, chopped ham and cheddar cheese ! My mouth is watering …

If you using a crock pot to keep warm after cooking in a pot, add a little chicken broth to grits to keep from drying out as needed!

Enjoy 😉

One thought on “Latley

Leave a Reply

