Spicing things up a bit

I don’t know about you but I love mac n cheese. Who doesn’t? My grandmother once made don and I homemade mac n cheese and we could never go back to the box stuff. Seriously ! I make it homemade every time. !!!!

As usual, I was watching the food network and sunny anderson was making mac n cheese but spicey mac n cheese. We were both drooling and I could already feel the kick on my tongue it looked and sounded so good. The very next day I was in the kitchen making this very same dish.

mac

Spicy Macaroni and Cheese

Ingredients:

2 Cups elbow pasta – Cooked untl ALMOST al dente ( about 6-7 minutes)

8 ounces of Cheddar cheese – ½ Cubed, ½ Shredded

8 ounces of Colby Jack Cheese – Cubed  (I doubled up on cheddar and skipped the jack)

8 ounces of Monterey Pepper Jack Cheese – Cubed

2 tsp flour

½ tsp pepper

½ tsp salt

½ tsp cayenne

½ teaspoon dry mustard

1/8 teaspoon of nutmeg

4 Tbsp of sour cream

1 large egg, beaten

1 cup heavy cream

1 cup half n half ( I doubled up on the heavy cream, using regular milk will suffice also)

1/4 cup grated onions

4 slices of bread

1 tbsp butter

Directions:

As always, begin by preheating oven 350 degrees!

In large bowl, mix cooked pasta with cheese cubes and pour into baking dish.

In a large bowl, mix together flour, salt, pepper, cayenne, mustard, and nutmeg. Add in sour cream, egg, heavy cream, half n half, and onions mixing well. Pour mixture over pasta and cover with shredded cheese. Bake uncovered for 30-35 minutes or until top begins to brown.

While the pasta is baking, cube bread slices. In a small pan, melt butter on medium heat. Add in the bread cubes and toast until golden brown. Sprinkle croutons on top of the pasta and bake for an additional 10 minutes .

My thoughts…

It was good, however there are a few things I would change in the prepping process! I would heat the milk on stove adding in the dry ingredients until it comes to a boil. Then mixing in the different cheese until melted. Once the cheese is fully melted I would mix in the pasta , pour into a baking dish then bake it for 30-35 min. Why? I felt like there was alot of bites with no cheese! I did use an entire box of elbows instead of 2 cups so I am sure that is why , but I find doing it this method with normal mac n cheese get everything nice and coated!

I was proud of my homemade croutons. They were delicious 🙂 I forsure thought they would be soak up all the butter and become soggy but with patience they turned out great !

ENJOY !

Photo Credit : Life’s Ambrosia
Leave a Reply

