Salted Caramel Cupcakes

Sweet. Salty. Delicious.

Birthdays are a great reason to bake and I always use these times to try new things. The GREAT thing about this is, my neighbors know that I love to bake so I use them as my ‘guinea pigs’ so instead of buying gifts for birthdays, I send a sweet treat their way. . . BUT I want the criticism in return.

This birthday I made Salted Caramel Cupcakes.  YUMMY ! The best thing about these cupcakes is that they are semi-home made 🙂

cupcake1

Cupcake Ingredients

1 box of yellow golden butter cake mix

3 eggs

1/2 cup of butter – melted

1 cup of caramel machiatto creamer

Icing Ingredients

1 8oz box of cream cheese – softened

1/2 cup of butter – softened

1 cup of caramel

7-8 cups of sifted powdered sugar

Additions:

Caramel

Sea Salt – course

Chopped Walnuts

Directions for cupcakes:

–Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line muffin tin with cupcake liners.

–In a large bowl, using a mixer, combine cake mix, eggs, butter and creamer for 1 minute. Scrap the side of bowls and continue to mix on medium for 1 minute.

— Scoop even amounts of batter into lined muffin tin and bake 18-20 minutes.

–Let cupcakes cool on baking rack.

Directions for Icing:

–Place the softened butter in bowl and blend softly. Add cream cheese and mix until smooth.

–Add caramel until fully incorporated.

–Slowly add in the powdered sugar until thickened. Turn mixer on medium and beat for 1-2 minutes until icing becomes fluffy.

–Pipe icing onto cooled cupcakes, drizzle caramel, sprinkle a little salt and add chopped walnuts.

cupcakes1

My Thoughts

I used homemade caramel ( Will post recipe another time), but store bought will be just as delicious !

My cupcakes baked for 19 minutes exact and were perfect.

I didn’t have the patience to sift all 7 cups of sugar.

I added the chopped walnuts. They work !

Definitely on the ‘make again’  list !

My Feedback

Iphone

Bake Away !!!

One thought on “Salted Caramel Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

