Mississippi Sin

No I did not spend the weekend in Mississippi having a hole bunch of fun 🙂 and YES I totally sang the spelling song while typing Mississippi (M – I – Crooked letter- Crooked Letter – I ..).

We are headed over to someones house for dinner and while in the grocery store I decided to take an appetizer… Oh boy – perfect opportunity to make something new.. Or is it??? Thank the Lord for pinterest. I grabbed my phone and immediately went through my food board to find an easy, few ingredient appetizer, that of course don would eat. I came across one I pinned when I first started using pinterest called Mississippi Sin ( yes, I sang the song again! ) .

Mississippi Sin

  • 16oz sour cream
  • 8oz cream cheese, softened
  • 2 cup cheddar cheese, shredded
  • 1/2 cup chopped ham
  • 1 green onion, chopped
  • 1/4 tsp hot sauce
  • 1 tsp Worcestershire sauce
  • salt
  • pepper
  • Loaf of bread to make a bowl

Image

Preheat oven to 350 Degrees. Cut middle out of bread to make a bread bowl. Save cut out for later. Mix all the above ingredients into a large bowl. Add mixed contents to bread bowl. Cut most of extra bread off of middle portion and put the top back over the mixed contents. Wrap bread bowl ( with the dip) in foil. Bake for 1 hour.

Serve with fritos, pita chips, diced bread or something of your liking.

My thoughts:

Its still in the oven so i can not give you much on taste, however, I did taste pre baking and it was good. I added a little more hot sauce and worcestershire to the mix.

I am a little concerned about baking the loaf of bread for ONE hour. I figured it would come out burnt ???? I did a tiny bit of reading online and other bloggers who made this recipe did not comment of the bread burning. I will let you know.

I DID NOT use ham… Don wont eat ham. So i substituted the ham for bacon. I also used more than 1/2 cup….actually used a hole pack of bacon :0) I trimmed all the fat off the bacon before rough chopping and adding into the mixture.

Several people added jalapenos from a jar, sausage crumbles ( instead of ham), and chilies. I am sure these additions or substitutes are great but I am pretty sure Don would not eat it.

UPDATE: the bread came out perfect and hard .. Exactly what you would need for a bread bowl. I was concerned about it burning ! The dip was a hit and I will definitely be making it again soon!

Head over to pinterest to pin the recipe or click here for the recipe I used !

Enjoy & Happy Sunday !

One thought on “Mississippi Sin

Leave a Reply

