Cheddar Cracker Chicken

I can’t even think of how to start this post. Maybe its because I am still thinking of how yummy our dinner was. I was supposed to make this recipe last week,  but I actually pushed it the side because it sounded really bland. Was I wrong! It was cooked perfectly ( which I was thrilled with, because I am still figuring out this oven after using it for a year…) and Don ( the picky eater ) LOVED IT! I hope you find this recipe as easy and delicious as we did. Its definitely a keeper! Check it out 🙂

 

Cheddar Cracker Chicken

Ingredients:

16 Ritz Crackers crushed ( about 3/4 cup )

6oz of sharp cheddar cheese

1 clove of garlic – finely chopped

1-2 stalks of scallions – thinly sliced

1/4 tsp of black pepper

1/4 tsp of salt

4 tbsp of of unsalted butter melted ( WE DID NOT USE BUTTER, INSTEAD I USED ONE EGG )

Directions:

Heat oven to 350° F.

In a bowl, combine the crackers, cheese, garlic, scallions and ¼ teaspoon each salt and pepper. ( I omitted the scallions simply because I did not have them on hand )

Pound the chicken to about 1/4 – 1/2 inch thickness with a meat mallet. Dip the pounded chicken in the butter ( I used a whisked egg instead) , then in the cracker mixture, pressing gently to help it adhere, and place on a foil-lined baking sheet.

Sprinkle any remaining cracker mixture on the chicken and drizzle with any remaining butter. Bake until the chicken is golden brown and cooked through, 20-25 minutes.

ENJOY !!!

The cheese melted in a way where it was not runny, nor burnt. It almost formed a thick, firm crust. I also seasoned my chicken before dipping it in the egg with Morton nature seasoning. Don typically always has an opinion about my food and tonight his comment was, ” I am trying to think how you can make this chicken better, but its already so good.” Yipee for me ( well actually for who ever came up with this recipe )

Go Pin it, and make it for your family !!!

 

2 thoughts on “Cheddar Cracker Chicken

Leave a Reply

