Easy As {pizza} Pie !!

What in the world is up with Wednesdays? The past three have been loooooong and busy. Although I keep complaining about how hard and long my work days are, I must say I am extremely fortunate and thankful to have a job and would NOT change it for the world.

At some point today, I was thinking of what I was going to make for dinner. Even though I told Don I was going to make homemade alfredo ( will post recipe at some point ), I remembered I finally got my March issue of Martha Stewart Living. In the this months magazine, Martha gave a recipe for ‘Skillet Pizza’. I was craving pizza at the time and I knew we had all the fixins’ for homemade pizza. The recipe states you can use homemade OR store bought dough.

Recipe for Skillet Pizza

1. Preheat oven to 500 degrees. Brush 12” cast-iron skillet with 1 teaspoon oil. Press dough flat in skillet, spreading to the edge ( If the edge retracts, let the dough sit for 5 minutes before continuing) Brush 1” border around edge with 1 teaspoon oil

Image

2. Use your favorite ingredients to cover the pizza. We used pepperoni, sausage, mozzarella and Parmesan! ( of course only things don will eat). Cook on the stove over medium heat until the bottom is golden brown ( just about 4-5 minutes). Transfer to oven.

3. Cook in oven until edge of crust is golden and dough is cooked through ( about 10 minutes ).

Image4. ENJOY.

We were introduced to a store bought pizza crust awhile back. I will tell you, we aren’t huge fans of it. Publix typically has fresh dough in the bakery. Its way better then the store bought, pre-packaged stuff, in my opinion.

The pizza came out alot better then what I thought it was going to. It was a thicker crust, BUT not to thick. I would like to try this again maybe with pears, gorgonzola and arugula.

Hope you try this recipe out and find it easy and quick like I did. Our house is now under construction with our very first DIY project inside the home. Of course I will blog about it soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

