Skillet Cheesy Chicken and Rice

Today I pulled out my recipe book to find out what I was going to cook for dinner! I got really excited because we chose to do a standing rib roast. That idea did not last long when I told Don to look up the current price for the meat. To say the least, we will keep the standing rib roast up the the folks for Christmas time.

As I threw that recipe back into the book, a small little paper fell out. It was literally tiny – appx 2in x 2 in ( if that ). It was a Campbell’s recipe for Skillet Cheesy Chicken and Rice . It was perfect for a picky eater. Chicken..CHECK… Cheese..CHECK..Rice…CHECK!! All I needed to do was omit the veggies and add them on the side for myself.

(Picture courtesy of Campbell’s Kitchen)

1 tablespoon vegetable oil

1 1/4 pounds skinless, boneless chicken breast halves

1 can (10 3/4 ounces) Campbell’s® Condensed Cream of Chicken Soup (Regular or 98% Fat Free)

1 1/2 cups water

1/2 teaspoon onion powder

1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper

1 cup uncooked regular long-grain white rice

2 cups frozen mixed vegetables

1/2 cup shredded Cheddar cheese.. We used slightly more. HUGE CHEESE FANS HERE !

  • Heat the oil in a 12-inch skillet over medium-high heat.  Add the chicken and cook for 10 minutes or until well browned on both sides.  Remove the chicken from the skillet.
  • Stir the soup, water, onion powder, black pepper and rice in the skillet and heat to a boil.  Reduce the heat to low.  Cover and cook for 15 minutes, stirring once halfway through the cooking time. I noticed during the rice cooking, a lot of water evaporated leaving the rice undercooked. I simply pulled out some beef broth I had in the fridge and kept adding as much as I needed till the rice was fully cooked.
  • Stir in the vegetables.  Return the chicken to the skillet.  Sprinkle with the cheese.  Cover and cook for 5 minutes or until the chicken is cooked through and the rice is tender.

I really enjoyed this chicken dish and will be enjoying it again in the future. I hope you and your family do also !

Off to watch The Oscars !

Leave a Reply

