Chex Funfetti Cake Batter Buddies

We have been doing really well with keeping sweets out of the house. . . until I came across this sweet treat. I am a sucker for anything that taste like cake batter & don loves funfetti cake ! I had to make this!

I will admit this is my second attempt at making it and it still isn’t perfect. My mistake the first time was because I tried substituting butter instead of the shortening… WRONG ! The butter completely reversed the melting process and made the chocolate firm like icing . I did not realize this until I did it for the second time however, I was able to get some of the white chocolate onto the chex mix before it began to firm up. We threw out the remaining amount of white chocolate šŸ˜¦ bummer…

Don quickly remembered we had some milk chocolate in the pantry from our neighbor ( Thanks Mara ) … We melted it… NOOO BUTTTER this time. . . and poured over the chex mix….

The dry ingredients ( funfetti cake batter and confectioners sugar ) were mixed together and then mixed in to coat the chex mix.

The treat is still delicious even though we had to use the milk chocolate !!! Need an easy, very quick treat to make? This is one I would recommend. I quickly learned you could take someones recipe and make it your own .

RECIPEĀ  BELOW :

Ingredients:
5 cups Chex cereal
10 oz (5 squares) vanilla flavored Almond Bark
1 1/2 cups Funfetti cake mix
1/2 cup powdered sugar
1 tsp vegetable shortening
Directions:
1. Melt Almond Bark according to the package directions, adding vegetable shortening to thin (I heard that you can make it without the shortening, but it worked great for me to use it).
2. Pour the cereal into a large bowl and drizzle the melted Almond Bark over the cereal. Mix gently with a large spoon or spatula.
3. Dump the cake mix and powdered sugar onto the cereal and mix gently with large spoon until all the cereal is evenly coated.
One thought on “Chex Funfetti Cake Batter Buddies

Leave a Reply

